Second Century Society

The Second Century Society

The Second Century Society, SCS, is the Boy Scouts of America’s national social organization of individuals, families, foundations, and corporations stewarded by key volunteers and implemented by the Boy Scouts of America National Foundation.

Established in 2011, SCS, replaces the 1910 Society and Founders Circle as the way to recognize Scouting’s major donors at both the local and national levels. Qualifying gifts to be recognized as a Second Century Society member have a broader definition than Scouting’s major gift recognition in the past. Gifts of $25,000 or more, given outright or payable over five years, or $100,000 or more, deferred, qualify the donor for membership in the Second Century Society. Donors recognized as a Second Century Society member is awarded a certificate and can wear the lapel pin indicating their level of support.

Coleman Ross
Cliff & Stephanie Rogers Rick Guirlinger Captive Every Day Ready
O. Temple Sloan, Jr. Capitol Broadcasting Company The Maynard Family Wells Fargo
Karen Hassett & John Morgan Timothy Seward
The 1910 Society

Founded in 1910, the Boy Scouts of America has grown into something larger and more significant than anyone expected. We honor that special date by presenting The 1910 Society award to donors who make gifts of $25,000 or more to their council endowments. These gifts can be in the form of cash, securities, land, five-year pledges, or other property suitable for a council endowment fund or easily converted to cash.

There are four levels of recognition within The 1910 Society, in honor of four very special individuals who shaped modern-day Scouting:

Ernest Thompson Seton – Nationally known artist and naturalist, author of the first official American Scout handbook, and many other books important to Scouting. Seton level membership: $25,000 minimum gift.
Daniel Carter Beard – First chairman of the National Court of Honor, National Scout Commissioner, and author of many well-known books and stories for youth. Beard level membership: $100,000 minimum gift.
Theodore Roosevelt – First Chief Scout Citizen, first Vice President of the BSA, and President of the United States. Roosevelt level membership: $500,000 minimum gift.
Waite Phillips – One of the BSA’s first benefactors, and donor to the BSA of almost 130,000 acres of land in New Mexico and what is now Philmont Scout Ranch. Phillips level membership: $1,000,000 and up.

1910 Society Members

Paul Kiesow
Charles (Terry) Reeves
O. Temple Sloan, Jr. Bill & Isabel Lawrence
Ralph Hawes, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Poole, Jr.
Shari Garrett Eric Ritzen
Emil & Penny Johnson
George Oliver Joseph E. Pizzi, Jr.
J. Rex & Carol Thomas Sam & Sandy Wornom
Edward Lowdermilk
Victor Johnston

Related posts